A Broken Heart. An End of an Era.

Alicia went into Hospice at the beginning of November. She wasn’t ready, but her medical team felt that she needed care that couldn’t be provided at home.

After her hospitalization where she learned she had six months left, she came home for a couple of weeks. Plans were made for gradual visits from family and friends — a celebration of life for Alicia was in the works so that she could hear all the sweet things everyone had to say. Unfortunately, she was only home for a couple of weeks before needing to be hospitalized again. There was an infection that required IV antibiotics — she required around the clock care and we were told that it was most likely that she only had a couple of weeks to a month left with us. She had family with her 24 hours a day, and many friends visiting. There were many more who tried and tried to get a visit in, but timing just didn’t work out.

She moved into hospice on November 7 and passed shortly after on November 13.

She was an inspiration, a help, and a friend to many of you. I know she’s left a big hole in my life and I can only imagine in many of yours, too.

For those wondering, we had a funeral November 15 in Cobourg, Ontario and a celebration for life November 28. Both this blog, and Bomb in My Belly (chronicling life after her initial diagnosis) will remain open.

I’ll leave you with this video from her 30th birthday, just months before she got her 2nd diagnosis.

xoxo,

Beck (Alicia’s sister)

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Broken Heart. An End of an Era.

  1. Andrea says:

    I’ve been checking this blog every few days looking for an update. I do not know Alicia in person, I have been following her blog since her recurrence. Reading this update has left me feeling so sad and shocked, I guess I had been hoping that she would have a few more months to see everyone that loved her dearly and spend more time with them. I am shocked that she is gone so soon. It makes me feel extremely sad and angry that she was not ready for hospice but her body forced her into it before her mind and heart were ready. Her beautiful life was just too short, and that too makes me angry. She was such a gifted writer…through her writings I felt like I knew her.

    When she posted about struggling to care for her elderly dog I have thought about her beloved dog every day and wonder what happened with the dog? Was a new home found or did the dog pass on as well?

    Beck, I am so terribly sorry for your pain and the loss of your sister. Losing a sibling is extremely hard and I can only imagine the pain and sorrow you feel. I will be holding all of your family members in a special place in my heart. I hope you can find some peace and comfort during this difficult time. I hope knowing how many lives she touched, including my own, brings you some comfort. She was a gift to the world and through her writing she helped so many people, more than she would ever realized. I wish I had brilliant words to say, but I don’t. All I can say is that I know the pain of grief and I am terribly sorry that you are all going through this. I am most sorry that Alicia is gone from this world, she was such a strong, incredible woman and a beautiful soul. What a truly sad and tragic ending for such a beautiful person who was taken from this world much too soon.

    • Beck says:

      Andrea — is 6ish years too late for an update? I honestly didn’t check the blog until just now. It was hard, you know? Still is. Thank you for the kinds words, they really truly mean a lot — I’m just sorry it’s taken me so long to read them. To answer your question about Alicia’s dog, unfortunately, we had put her down a few months before Alicia passed. And all the cats stayed with me.

Leave a comment