I’m overwhelmed

I don’t know how many times I’ve said that over the past 12 hours. I’m absolutely stunned by the outpouring of support from everyone — and not just the financial support. Every share on Facebook and Twitter, all the beautiful, amazing, kind things people have written about me…you guys have buried me in an avalanche of love. And not just people I know — dozens of people I’ve never met have donated and shared kind words of support and love. It just goes to show I keep very good company, and my company, in turn, keeps good company.

Illness is often an isolating experience. There is so much you have to go through alone, so much you can’t share, no matter how you try. But this experience has reminded me that I am surrounded by the most incredible people, that I am supported by a wonderful community.

There is so much more that I want to say, but my head is spinning from the events of today. It is reassuring to know that finances will not be a barrier to entering a trial, even if I have to go further afield than Detroit (but please, please, please let me get Detroit). In less than one day, you have donated more than 50 percent of the funds I need to finance approximately six months of treatment. “Thank you” seems so inadequate, but it is all I have. And I promise I will send a personal message to every person who has donated, but forgive me if it takes a few days. I have a lot of messages to write.

I would be remiss to end this post without including a link to my donation page, so here it is: http://www.gofundme.com/6tl6so

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Thank you for every cent, but thank you even more for all the love and kindness. My heart is full.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m overwhelmed

  1. marillawex says:

    You deserve it, hotstuff. ❤

  2. Reblogged this on jowita bydlowska and commented:
    Beautiful words from a beautiful person.

Leave a Reply

