Day three

It’s day three of the ganitumab and MEK 162 trial. Ganitumab is an insulin-like growth factor receptor inhibitor and the MEK 162 blocks a pathway where I have mutations, and that’s about all I can say about that. So far, no side effects except a slight blurring in certain parts of my field of vision, hardly noticeable and actually less pronounced that it was on day one, or maybe I’m just adjusting. The other side effect is that certain symptoms that had appeared over the last few weeks (and which I haven’t really mentioned) have disappeared, namely a subtle but noticeable pain in my right flank where my liver was likely sticking to my abdominal wall like a piece of Velcro. This is promising, though I’m not taking too much from it at this point. We’ll see where the chips fall in a couple of weeks.

As for now, I’m a bit tired which could be an adjustment period thing or may be a permanent side effect from the experimental drugs, or may mean that I need to drink a glass of water — it’s hard to say what is cause and what is effect these days. In any case, I’m going to drink the water and maybe nap for a bit even though I slept in until 10:30 this morning, because it’s Saturday and that means I can basically do whatever I want.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Clinical trials, Indignities of the human body and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

