Year in review

In the way that people do, I started thinking about 2012 and everything that happened. I think I cried and threw up (sometimes at the same time) more than I ever have in my life. A lot happened. I have strong feelings about last year, neither entirely good nor entirely bad, and frankly not even measurable by such ideas. It was a tempest of a year. Here are some of the highlights:

  • I had another recurrence
  • I had surgery
  • I celebrated Shea’s 30th birthday
  • I went to Hawaii
  • I went to Chicago
  • I went to Scotland (where I was bit by a tick)
  • I went to Ireland (where I swam in the Irish Sea)
  • I went to Muskoka (where I swam in the lake)
  • I started two new events
  • I tutored a 15-year-old
  • I went to Anabela and Geoff’s wedding
  • My dad and his wife and my brother moved back to BC
  • My mom visited
  • I started therapy
  • I attended two writing workshops
  • I celebrated Jodi’s 40th birthday
  • I started collaborating on a fundraiser with Freedom to Read Week (next month!)
  • I was asked to talk at ActivateTO (March! One week after the fundraiser!)
  • I did chemo
  • Chemo failed
  • I started a clinical trial
  • I was hospitalized for two weeks
  • I quit dilaudid cold turkey (not recommended)
  • Trial failed
  • I had my tumour profiled
  • I was accepted to a second clinical trial
  • I was sent home without starting the trial because my eye pressure was fucked
  • I started glaucoma drops and my eyes got better
  • I organized a couple clothing drives
  • I watched my friend give birth to a baby
  • I signed a contract for a book

People have been wondering about that last point, which I’ve mentioned briefly on Facebook without going into it in much detail. The short version of this story is that I am co-authoring a book for young adults (18-39) dealing with a cancer diagnosis. I will be writing stories based on interviews with people from this community (and conducting the interviews, as well). I’ll write the long version another day.

So, yeah. All that stuff happened. Plus a lot of TV watching, book reading, movie going, alcohol drinking, picture taking, and hospital sitting. And on and on, etc. I’m not sure where all the hours came from to do that stuff, particularly when I feel like most of my time is spent procrastinating and lounging around.

On that note, I’ll say goodnight. This week alone I have to finish writing an essay for Emily, set up my first interview for the book, host Raconteurs, start a new clinical trial, spend a night in the hospital for blood draws, fact check a 4,000-word article for Reader’s Digest, and work (I’ve just started back after three months off).

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Year in review

  1. Thank goodness for the New Year when we can draw a line in the sand. I don’t believe in the fresh slate concept, but I certainly like the idea of saying “that was last year, now anything’s possible.”

    Congrats on the book contract. Your writing is excellent, as is your voice – I’m certain you’ll capture the interviews beautifully. Good luck with the project. ~Catherine

Leave a Reply

