Sweet sixteen

Sixteenth treatment today. It was completely sweet, and dreamy Jimmy kissed me almost on the lips and asked if I’d go to the drive-in with him.

Actually, I just ate a lot to stave off the nausea and had weird dreams, including one with a washroom sign accusing patrons of being liars who didn’t wash their hands and another of a girl standing and swiveling her hips around while she wore a butter-yellow dress with a full skirt. It swished over her legs like silk.

Also, I took pictures.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in chemo days, Second recurrence. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet sixteen

  1. rroserred says:

    Hi Alicia, the sign in the dream washroom made me laugh. The yellow swishy skirt sounds lovely. Your pictures are good. You’re very pretty with or without hair. I don’t know Jimmy but I’m glad he was there with you. My sister-in-law’s chemo was always rough the day or two after. I hope you will be well and resting and that it goes well. There are these women who live in Tibet and are nuns, caring for the birthplace of a famous Tibetan teacher who was a woman, named Yeshe Tsogyal. If you want, I can put your name on their prayer list and they’ll include you in prayers for good health and recovery and healing. I won’t if you don’t want. They’re kind of cool ladies. Fourteen of them. Many close in age to you. Halfway around the world, but right here in our hearts and minds. Connected to us here in the west. Rest. Be well. I’ll write again.

  2. Hope you a managing well post-chemo. Last night I had a dream that some man was inspecting my cutlery, and found all the ‘clean’ knives were really smeared with peanut butter left overs. It was embarrassing and strange. 🙂

    Catherine
    facingcancer.ca

Leave a Reply

