In-take/Taken-in

I saw a new therapist today. Sadly, she won’t be my therapist all the time, though she’s going to set me up with someone she thinks I’ll get along with. She was great. She said,  When I looked at your referral sheet, I was like, “Oh no, this is going to be weird and depressing* and it’s only 2:30. But you’re really funny and smart and great to spend time with.**

So remember that, folks. I might seem weird and depressing on paper, but in real life I’m funny and smart and great to spend time with. My therapist says so.

 

*I love that she admitted she was dreading my visit.
**This is the right way to validate my feelings. By stroking my ego.
About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In-take/Taken-in

  1. Chantelle says:

    I notice that you haven’t had any comments in a while, so I thought I’d say hi, you don’t know me, but I am listening and what you say matters to me.
    Also, I wanted to say that I’ve been putting a lot of though lately (angry though, truth be told) into how even though the mental part of illness lasts long after the chemo/after you get your blood sugar under control/ what have you (pick a disease) the mental part gets the least attention and recognition. No matter what you have had, and sometimes even without having that first acute medical issue, your head stays with you. And takes even longer to heal.
    Anyway, keep writing. I want to read what you have to say

Leave a Reply

