Another one down

Chemo #2 happened today. So far, so good. No allergic reactions and no exploding body parts yet. We’ll see if I make it through the day tomorrow, but I think I’ll be fine. The only side effect right now is a feeling of malaise (which by definition is to feel indefinably out of sorts). I imagine it will pass in a day or two, or turn out to be the first sign of complete kidney failure or a prolapsed brain stem or something because that is how I roll these days.

I brought the ever-hilarious Kailey to sit with me and otherwise entertain and nourish me. Note to those of you who might someday require all-day chemo sessions: The day passes quickly if you bring a relatively new friend with whom you have tried unsuccessfully to make plans with for a month. You will have a lot to talk about and it will be pleasantly distracting. And a note to you who wish to spend quality time with me: I am terrifically easy to pin down when attached to an IV pump and I have FOUR! MORE! SESSIONS! (Sign up now. Kailey’s going to be leaving me for Nunavut and besides, after today I know everything about her there is to know.) The drugs to control the side effects of treatment make me a little bit punch-drunk and apt to be forthcoming with personal information. It’s a great way to Get to Know Alicia. Oh, and the drugs sometimes make me forget that I’m talking, so my guests get to fill in the blanks. I’m a human Mad Libs sheet.

This cycle was a lot easier than the last one (and I didn’t feel like the last one was that bad until it was that bad and everything was turned upside down). I was able to stay awake for the whole thing, and there was a lot of laughing and inappropriate language. Kailey showed me some videos from her teen dance troupe days. Jessie joined us for the last hour, brought me home, and ordered in dinner with me. I came home to a schedule mailed to me from PMH which lists my next cycle as being four weeks in the future instead of three weeks, a little something that I am not OK with and that I will fight against. I went into this cycle with good blood counts and a lowered dose of chemo. There is no reason I can see to pre-emptively delay my next cycle.

But I’m not going to let that bother me at the moment. Things are moving along again and I can talk to my nurse tomorrow about moving my next appointment. But now, sleep. If it will come.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Another one down

  1. are you seriously cutting me off without a second date? i was going to learn “party tricks” for you. i’m not above begging.

  2. Michael Hiller says:

    I’d volunteer but you’d have to talk, otherwise I’d bore you with trivialities…and I do mean trivialities. I am a veritable font of useless information.

    • Alicia says:

      Maybe I’ll book people in for one hour slots during which time they can regale me with lectures about any topic of their interest. I like trivialities and useless (or useful) information.

      Actually, when I think about it, I really like this idea.

  3. Alicia says:

    Oh, that’s right. You will be here for the next one. No, not cutting you off because I NEED to see those party tricks. And so does everyone else in chemo daycare. Also, I trust that you will have more stories to tell me in the next three to four weeks. And I still haven’t seen the Drug Free rap.

    • i’ll throw in some extra swearing next time. not just for you. for EVERYONE. and…i have a few stories up my sleeve, don’t you fret. i’m also willing to be a chat-fluffer for those who want to visit but don’t feel entirely confident about their prepared topic of conversation. like…if phyllis diller had a baby with andy richter? that’s me? ew.

      • Alicia says:

        I think this could be a great project. I’ll have to prepare reports on everything I’ve learned during a chemo session. Keep the brain sharp. Ish.

      • ooh. i like this. a lot. why do we not yet have a logbook? also: I SAID, IT SMELLS LIKE FARTS.

      • Alicia says:

        Actually, you yelled it. In the face of about six senior citizens. How did I forget to add this detail to the post?

      • it was a dream come true, frankly. that’s going to be my new chemo trick: yelling insane things as the elevator doors open. i.e.: “BUT THERE WERE THREE! AND THEY WERE SO STICKY!”, OR “THE CREAM DIDN’T WORK, SO I HAD TO TRY THE OOOOOIIIINTMENT!”

  4. Michael Hiller says:

    I’ve done the chemo watch before, and you’re right, it does smell like farts…I’m not saying that that’s a bad thing…necessarily.

Leave a Reply

