That was easy

Robovein took 45 minutes to go in. Far better than the first one I had placed which took almost two and a half hours and was accompanied by a symphony of swearing (on the part of the surgeon). I wasn’t overly sedated, though I came home and slept for a couple hours. Now I’m left with a massive dressing on my chest (covering a few inches of tubing left as access for chemo tomorrow) and the inability to turn my head to the right without a considerable amount of pain. But it’s worth it to say goodbye to IVs for the next one to five years (that’s the lifespan of a robovein).

Now I just have to make it through to tomorrow. And hopefully track down two more anti-nausea pills. Did you know (you probably didn’t) that several anti-nausea medications are back-ordered in the province of Ontario? One of my medications (for breakthrough nausea) simply hasn’t been prescribed because you just can’t get it in pill form and haven’t been able to for months. The other anti-nausea medication I was prescribed (the important one) is also fairly elusive, so my oncologist wrote on the prescription to sub in a different medication if the pharmacy couldn’t get the first one. I managed to get two pills of the first medication…the second isn’t available. That will cover me for tomorrow. Hopefully the pharmacist can track down the other two pills I need, or at least not drop the ball completely and remember to transfer my prescription to the hospital pharmacy. So much for trying to keep all my prescriptions at one location (makes it easier to avoid dangerous drug interactions, the chance of which increases when you’re taking seven or eight drugs at any given time).

Anyway, that’s the only thing that is really bothering me right now. Well, that and the fact that the tape holding my dressing in place is making me really itchy and there’s no way to scratch under it.

Time to pack up a bag for tomorrow. If I’m able to stay conscious for longer than 15 minutes tomorrow, I’ll try to update at some point during the day. Wish me luck.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That was easy

  1. sending thoughts and warm wishes Alicia

  2. Hi!
    I am thinking about you and hoping that tomorrow goes ok. I sucked back a lot of the Gravol Ginger lozenges in addition to the anti nausea medication when I was trying not to projectile vomit. I hope the pharmacy issues get sorted out and you get hooked up with some Ondansetron. That was the good stuff for me. Good luck!
    Terri

Leave a Reply

