Home times

I’m back from Sunnybrook where surgery went well. There is more to tell about it later when I can sit and type for longer.

The hospital is a great machine for bringing people in and churning them out, though. Lots of you are asking when and if you can visit and what I need or want. So here’s a little primer (and really, you don’t have to bring anything but your own self, but bringing things is also nice).

Text, email, or call a couple of hours before you would like to call and let me know a frame of time you are available. I’m still sleeping a lot and it’s hard to know more than a few hours in advance if I’ll be up for company. So it’s best not to just drop by or to ask a day in advance since I don’t know that I’ll be ready for you then.

If you want to bring food, it’s better to bring small, individually packaged portions rather than, say, a whole casserole. Unless you plan on heating up the casserole, taking the casserole out of the oven, serving the casserole, eating the casserole with me, and putting the leftovers away in small containers for me. Something I hadn’t considered until I got home — I can’t lift heavy casseroles. Or open jars. I’m really inept at a lot of things.

Snack things that are appreciated: Liberte brand kefir, fresh berries or chunks of melon, veggies chopped up with humus or dip, baked goods that can double as breakfast, like bran or oatmeal muffins. Cheese.

If you’re on your way over, feel free to offer to bring me a coffee or tea — chances are I will accept the offer.

DVDs are great, especially ones that don’t require too much brain power or attention to follow (ie., no subtitles. I’m just not there yet).

If you are wondering how you can help around the house, just ask. I’ll find something for you to do like take the garbage out, sweep the kitchen, or massage my bunions. (just kidding. I don’t have bunions. You can massage my feet.)

I want to thank everyone so much for everything they’ve already done, all the hospital visits and flowers and gifts, all the help getting me to and from the hospital. You guys are seriously the greatest. I don’t think people appreciate how amazing it is to have a community of friends and family who will pull together like this. My roommate in the hospital and her friends kept commenting on how many people I had coming around and sending me things and calling and asking after me. I’m pretty blessed to have all of you in my life.

OK, I’ve buttered you up enough. Come coddle me.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home times

  1. Amanda says:

    Hey Alicia, sorry I didn’t read this before sending you that tweet! I acted too fast. TOO FAST.

  2. Jeannette says:

    Hope you are continuing to heal and getting stronger everyday. Best wishes always.

Leave a Reply

