Takeoff

Here we go. In six hours (it’s currently midnight, one minute into December 2nd) I will be arriving at the hospital to prepare for surgery. My wonderful friend Jessica came over to braid my hair in a crown around my head so it is out of the way; Jodi (The Falcon) Mason came over and put the biggest lasagna I’ve ever seen in my freezer, bestie Laura-Louise came and made notes about where to find me in the hospital and where to go to make sure I have television and a phone (she and Jodi are on Operation Be There When Alicia Wakes Up Or Shortly Thereafter), Josh came by with prezzies from Jenna (thank you, sweets! And thanks to Scott and Dara who came by Monday night with gifts for home and hospital as well), Jessie came by and delivered a message (Go get’em, Tiger?), etc. etc. Some of you reading this will have no idea who I am talking about, but it gives you a good sense of the kind of people I am surrounded with.

The loveliest Shea and her lovely Paul are picking me up at 5:30 in the morning (!!!) to drop me off at the hospital. Surgery starts at 8 a.m. or something, and ends whenever it ends. I’ll be staying on the 6th floor D ward of Sunnybrook hospital if anyone wants to visit or call. If you do want to visit, it’s probably a good idea to call ahead to make sure I don’t already have 20 people there. You can also check in with Laura-Louise or Jodi or Jessie if you know those ladies and have their contact info.

I’m going to bring my computer with me and will update if I can get wireless. If I don’t have it, I’ll have LL update my status in the comments of this post.

To answer a couple questions that have been asked a few times: No, I am not nervous. No, I don’t know how long I’ll be in hospital, probably about five days. Yes, you can send me chocolate. Or bring me smoothies.

When I talk to y’all next, I’ll be 100% tumor-free (how’s that for optimism?)

xoxo Thanks everyone for the love and good wishes.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Takeoff

  1. Shea Sho Magillicuddy says:

    FUCK YES Y’ALL!

  2. Kuba says:

    Hey Alicia,

    I hope the surgery went well and you are doped up on nothing but the finest of pain-dampening and mood-enhancing pharmaceuticals. I’m very grateful for the blog updates – I’m worried for my friend, or I would be were it not clear that she’s surrounded by a great support network built on awesomeness and love. I hope that I can lend a hand in my way once I get to Toronto on Monday night. Until then, you’re in my thoughts and my prayers to the sometimes vengeful sometimes merciful heavenly monkey father.

    Go get ’em Tiger.

    kuba

Leave a Reply

