A quick but most important update

Hello everyone. I’ve been MIA for awhile. I missed updating you on the latest news from my oncologist and surgeon. It can be summed up thusly:

a) The tumors have not grown.

b) The Surgeon of Sunnybrook is going to do surgery.

c) Surgery is scheduled for December 2nd. As in next Thursday. (Mom, I’ll call you later.)

I know what you’re all thinking — it’s December next week? But that means there’s only… a few shopping days left til Christmas! It’s okay. It shocked me, too.

That’s it for now. For people who want to know things like, Can I help you, Alicia? How do you take your tea, Alicia? Can I visit you in the hospital, Alicia? May I flip your pillow to the cool side, Alicia?, you can send me a message on Facebook. Or email me at alicia dot merchant at gmail you know the rest. I’ll probably end up designating someone to be the contact person for when I’m in the hospital so I don’t have to deal with deciphering keyboard letters from within a morphine haze, or with figuring out what a person is supposed to do with a ringing telephone.

Let’s fucking do this.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A quick but most important update

  1. Kelli says:

    I wish you the absolute bestest, bestedy best of luck in this procedure.

  2. Aurelia says:

    Oh honey, I’m glad you are getting help, but wow, I sure hope this works. Please put me on any email list you send out, and let me know how to help. I’m around during the day, when most people work, so if I can help, say the word.

  3. Brydie says:

    Be well my friend!! I’m sending all my positive vibes your way! 🙂

  4. Lil sis says:

    Yayayayayayayayayayayayayayayay!!!!
    Xo
    Beck

Leave a Reply

