I think I’ll keep him

My first date with the Surgeon of Sunnybrook was delightful, even if I was the only one who was naked from the waist down. All the warnings I received about his brusque and rude disposition were totally unnecessary. I understand that not everyone has had or will have the same experience as me, but then not everyone is as engaging as me and my personal note-taker/chauffeur (Hi, Jenn!). He was efficient, friendly, and jokey, and most importantly, he answered my questions as though I were an intelligent and informed adult, and not a small child who couldn’t possibly understand the facts of her case.

The surgeon who acts as his assistant was also lovely — funny, professional, and easy to talk to. She even scored points by grabbing a paper towel to scribble notes on. One might see that as a sign that she was unprepared; I see it as a sign that she’d rather improvise a solution to her paperlessness than waste my time and hers.

I didn’t leave the appointment knowing whether the Surgeon of Sunnybrook will perform surgery or not. I’m going back in two weeks with a copy of my latest CT scans, and he’ll decide what to do after looking at them. He said he would only do the surgery if he could remove all the cancer. Jenn said he wants to cut me open, she could see it in his eyes. I think he will, too. It’s just a feeling, but a strong one. He’s a world-renowned, aggressive surgeon at the top of his field. I’m a charming 30-year-old who asks the right questions. And since I’m seeing him for a second opinion, I think he’s going to do his best to offer me a different opinion than Surgeon-the-First (in fact, he kind of already has, at least as far as chemo is concerned).

I have confidence in this surgeon. And even if I walk away without getting surgery, I know I’ll feel a lot better about having the decision made by this guy and not the guy before. I’m lucky my oncologist referred me to him. I like his style.

About Alicia Louise

I'm a writer, editor, fact checker, storyteller, events organizer, chronically busy yet endlessly lazy, mildly neurotic (though I keep the neuroses well-hidden, one hopes) 32-year-old with recurrent ovarian cancer. I like people and good writing and straight talk. I have a hard time feeling sorry for people, including myself, but the people that I love, I love passionately; one may even say creepily. I try to keep that mostly to myself. I'd like to be charming, but I'm usually just a mess. I'm like a gull slamming into your windshield.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I think I’ll keep him

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I think I’ll keep him | Second Verse -- Topsy.com

  2. Terri says:

    Kindness and professionalism can really go a long way when it comes to gaining confidence in medical personnel. So glad to hear that you had a good experience for a change.

  3. ELAINE HODDER says:

    I’m Happy for you Alicia -hope the next visit is a good experience -Love U

  4. Jeannette says:

    I almost think Surgeon-the-first was not conifdent in his own ability and decided to not try as opposed to try and fail. I am glad you have someone you can trust and who treats you with respect. It is so important to trust you are moving in the right direction. Really, it is great news.

Leave a Reply

